List of President of Pakistan

List of Presidents of Pakistan [1947 to 2024]

The President of a country is usually the head of state and government, and is often the ceremonial leader of the country. The President is usually elected by the people through a democratic process, and serves for a specific term. The President is responsible for representing the country internationally, and for overseeing the administration and operation of the government. In some countries, the President also has the power to veto or sign laws, appoint judges and other officials, and serve as commander-in-chief of the military. The role and powers of the President can vary greatly depending on the country and its political system.

List of Presidents of Pakistan From 1947 to 2024

Here is a list of the Presidents of Pakistan:

Sr NoNameTook OfficeLeft Office
1Iskander Mirza23 March 195627 October 1958
2Ayub Khan27 th October 1958
8 June 1962
8 June 1962
25 March 1969
3Yahya Khan25 March 196920 December 1971
4Zulfikar Ali Bhutto20 December 197113 August 1973
5Fazal Ilahi Chaudhry14 August 197316 September 1978
6Muhammad Zia-ul-Haq16 September 197817 August 1988
7Ghulam Ishaq Khan17 August 198818 July 1993
8Wasim Sajjad18 July 199314 November 1993
9Mr. Farooq Ahmad Khan Leghari14 November 19932 December 1997
10Wasim Sajjad2 December 19971 January 1998
11Muhammad Rafiq Tarar1 January 199820 June 2001
12Pervez Musharraf20 June 2001
6 October 2007
6 October 2007
18 August 2008
13Muhammad Mian Soomro18 August 20088 September 2008
14Asif Ali Zardari9 September 20089 September 2013
15Mamnoon Hussain9 September 20139 September 2018
16Dr. Arif Alvi9 September 2018Till Date


As of 2024, there have been 13 Presidents of Pakistan since the country gained independence in 1947. The current President of Pakistan is Arif Alvi, who has held office since 2018. The list of Presidents of Pakistan is as follows:

  1. Iskander Mirza (1956-1958)
  2. Ayub Khan (1958-1969)
  3. Yahya Khan (1969-1971)
  4. Zulfikar Ali Bhutto (1971-1973)
  5. Fazal Elahi Chaudhry (1973-1978)
  6. Muhammad Zia-ul-Haq (1978-1988)
  7. Ghulam Ishaq Khan (1988-1993)
  8. Farooq Leghari (1993-1997)
  9. Muhammad Rafiq Tarar (1998-2001)
  10. Pervez Musharraf (2001-2008)
  11. Asif Ali Zardari (2008-2013)
  12. Mamnoon Hussain (2013-2018)
  13. Arif Alvi (2018-present)

The 13th President of Pakistan is Arif Alvi. He has held office since September 9, 2018. Alvi is a Pakistani dentist, politician, and member of the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) party. He was elected as the President of Pakistan in 2018, after the PTI won a majority in the general election that year.

Prior to becoming President, Alvi served as a member of the National Assembly of Pakistan and as the Speaker of the National Assembly. He has also held various other positions in government, including serving as the President of the Pakistan Dental Association and as a member of the World Dental Federation. Alvi is known for his work on healthcare and education issues, and is a strong advocate for the use of technology in governance.

Benazir Bhutto (1993-1996)

The first President of Pakistan was Iskander Mirza. He held office from 1956 to 1958. Mirza was born on November 13, 1899 in Murshidabad, India (now in Bangladesh). He received his education at Aligarh Muslim University and Oxford University, and later served in the British Indian Army.

Mirza was involved in the independence movement in India and was a member of the Muslim League, a political party that advocated for the creation of a separate Muslim state in India. After the partition of India in 1947, Mirza served in various government roles in Pakistan, including as the Governor of East Pakistan and as the Minister for Interior and Defense.

In 1956, Mirza was appointed as the first President of Pakistan by Governor-General Malik Ghulam Muhammad, following the adoption of a new constitution that established Pakistan as a presidential republic. Mirza served as President until 1958, when he was deposed in a military coup led by Ayub Khan. Mirza died in exile in London in 1969.

Leave a Reply